Wanted: Hermits, Hairdressers & Hot Rods


I signed up to be an extra last week for TV and movies. It was something I always wanted to do, but just never had the time.

The process to sign up was pretty easy. All I had to do was bring my passport to the Central Casting office in Burbank, fill out a couple of forms, and stand in a long line to get my picture taken. It all took about an hour.

Now I call into a special number each day to see if there are any casting directors looking for my “type.”

Here is a sample of what was needed today:

–       A skinny, weathered older man with scruffy hair to play a hermit.

–       Men over six feet with Russian dance experience.

–       Late 20s/early 30s upscale, attractive men to play hair stylists for a show at Warners.

And most interestingly,

 –       Black or Hispanic transvestites to play “tranny hookers.”

There was even a call out for cars. Sons of Anarchy is looking for European roadsters with right-side steering.

Nothing really fits me today, but if I only happened to be over six feet tall with a scruffy beard and was an upscale, attractive Hispanic transvestite hair stylist, who drives a Triumph and dances like a boatman on the Volga … I’d have work for a week!

About deadwrite

Freelance writer, film historian, taphophile View all posts by deadwrite

2 responses to “Wanted: Hermits, Hairdressers & Hot Rods

  • Kim Stephens

    “Nothing really fits me today, but if I only happened to be over six feet tall with a scruffy beard and was an upscale, attractive Hispanic transvestite hair stylist, who drives a Triumph and dances like a boatman on the Volga … I’d have work for a week!”

    Yeah, and there’d be the added bonus of getting to sleep on the couch so you won’t scare your wife and six cats!

  • Peggy

    You honest to Gawd have SIX cats! Holy shit, that’s a lotta cats for one household. You’ll get work as an extra, I’m sure of it. I’ll be scannin’ the films for your face from here on out.

Leave a Reply

